top of page

Accountability....

I would like to jump on the band wagon of how this picture has sparked dismay and horror...

Look at it closely, and tell me how a retailer of this volume with such fashion forward influence could not see running this print ad would cause outrage around the world.

I understand some Europeans tend to view things differently than we do in the states when it comes to advertising; However, this pairing was a no-brainer!! Putting a Black child in a shirt, hoodie, or hat doesn't matter- a Black person and the word monkey is so disrespectful I can't breathe!! How could they brush this off that a group of people, who may I add run to their store in droves to purchase the latest trends, would not be offended?

Here is another case of retailers being too comfortable and not accountable for situations that are supposed to be signed off before it reaches us. Let me express this doesn't have anything to do with the message on the product, it's who represented the product that hit the internet in a flurry.

I've expressed that I'm quite sure many heads were removed because of the backlash. I come from this world and I know the steps:

-Product is designed

-Units projected for each store

-Production and Delivery in place

-Photo Samples for shoot for online promotion

The latter is where the I's are dotted and the T's are crossed! I recall these samples had to be close to perfection and there's a team on hand to bug the heck out of production that it is the case. So when they had both models the same care was not considered in how the customer would react? Hum...

The photographer, Marketing team, Assistants didn't think this would resonate a Hot Button?

I believe they did and didn't care or think it was a huge deal- we've seen similar carelessness with Dove advertising last year. Let's push the button mentality can actually lose customers.

I end this with you the customer are smarter than many retailers think. I'm a customer and totally can pick up when there's a hint of disrespect. I rep this brand and anyone who knows me knows this as truth, as 90% of my wardrobe is H&M- well I will no longer support this brand, as the shopping spectrum is huge and it's time to support those who understand there's Kings and Queens in the jungle too!

Peace

bottom of page